Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/af7/71684035/files/2015/01/img_0392.png
This past weekend it was super rainy and dark. We decided to have a cuddly jammy day in on Sunday. No workouts, no work, and just relaxing at home with the family. My oldest daughter, G, asked me if we could bake cookies 😳. I haven’t baked in a long time. Truthfully I LOVE to bake. I’m not against baking and I think there are a lot of clean and healthy alternatives to box mixes. I know a lot of people shy away from baking from scratch because it can be messy or time consuming. But if I’m going to have some sweets, I’d rather make it the way I like and as “healthy” as possible. After inspecting my pantry and Pinterest (I actually tweaked the recipe I found) I came up with these yummy bad boys: Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (now that’s a mouth full 🍪)

1 cup peanut butter
1 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
2 large eggs
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I used even a little more than half😜)
1/2 cup Dark chocolate chips (you can use milk chocolate, but this is all I had and there are actually a lot of health benefits to dark chocolate).

*Preheat oven to 350 F and line baking sheets with parchment paper.

1. Mix peanut butter and brown sugar with mixer on medium speed for 3 minutes.
2. Add eggs, one at a time. Mix in flour until blended in, then mix in oats, baking soda, and cinnamon.
3. Stir in chocolate chips by hand.
4. Using an ice cream scoop, drop balls of evenly sized dough onto the prepared baking sheets (I took a cup and mashed down a bit) Leave enough room for cookies to spread slightly.
5. Bake for 10 minutes (bake times may vary a bit. I added a couple of minutes). Cool on a cooling rack.

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

